Reaping Your Harvest

Today’s Store Highlight: CVSing w/Kay (8/15)

Posted on: 08/15/2010

I have not gone to CVS in over a month to shop. Due to this fact, it pretty much feels as if I’m starting all over again. I no longer receive those awesome $5/$25 coupons that usually print out from the coupon machine and on the bottom of my receipts…oh how I could have used one on tonight.

With that being said, I want to try something new for the blog. I would like to highlight a different each day of the week. The highlight would basically consist of me going out to the store featured that day, work a transaction, and then coming back here to share it with you all.

Because I have not been going to CVS I began my transactions today with 0 ECBs.

This is how things turned out:

Transaction 1:

Purex Complete 3 in 1 Sheet- $5.99; get $2.00 EB (limit 1)
-use $3.00/1 Purex 3-in-1 coupon (8/15 RP )
=$0.99 after coupon and Extra Bucks

Subtotal: $2.99
Tax: $0.45
Ecbs Redeemed: 0
Total OOP: $3.44 (*at which point my husband says LOUDLY….”WHAT?! You have to pay for something ;)…he’s spoiled!
Ecbs Earned: $2

Transaction 2 & 3:

Crest or Oral B ProHealth- $3.49; get $2.50 EB (limit 2)
-use $1.00/1 Crest coupon (8/1 PG)
= Free after coupon & Extra Bucks
**They were all out of the toothpaste and dental floss so I ended purchasing the mouthwash without coupons

(T2) Subtotal: $1.49
Tax: $0.26
Ecbs Redeemed: $2
Total OOP: $1.75
Ecbs Earned: $2.50

(T3) Subtotal: $0.99
Tax: $0.26
Ecbs Redeemed: $2.50
Total OOP: $1.25
Ecbs Earned: $2.50

Transaction 4:

Soft and Beautiful- $4.99; get $4 EB (limit 1)
= $0.99 after coupon and Extra Bucks

Subtotal: $2.49
Tax: $0.37
Ecbs Redeemed: $2.50
Total OOP: $2.86
Ecbs Earned: $4

Transaction 5:

Gillette Fusion ProGlide- $9.99; get $5 EB (limit 1)
-use $4.00 Fusion ProGlide Coupon (8/1 PG)
= $0.99 after coupon and Extra Bucks

Subtotal: $1.99
Tax: $0.75
Ecbs Redeemed: $4
Total OOP: $2.74
Ecbs Earned: $5

Transaction 6:

Zegrid OTC 14 ct-$9.99; get $7 EB (limit 1)
-use $3.00/1 Zegrid OTC
-use $3/1 Zegerid OTC, 8/15SS
= Free after coupon & Extra Bucks

Subtotal: $1.99
Tax: $0.75
Ecbs Redeemed: $5
Total OOP: $2.74
Ecbs Earned: $7

Transaction 7:

(2) Right Guard Deodorant, BOGO, FREE ($4.49)
-use BOGO Free coupon (7/25 RP)
=Free after coupon

(6) SoBe – Buy One, Get One ($1.49) FREE
-use BOGO Free Sobe Coupon (PLAY)
= FREE Sobe after coupon

Blink Tears 0.5- $7.99; get $7.99 EB (limit 1)
-use $1.00/1 Blink Tears (8/15 RP)
-use $1.50/1 Blink Tears (PRINT)
= $1.50- $1 Profit after coupons & extra bucks

Subtotal: -$0.51
Tax: $1.11
Ecbs Redeemed: $7
Total OOP: $0.50
Ecbs Earned: $7.99

Transaction 8:

(2) Reinventing Beauty Magazines, $0.99

-I actually meant to have these including with the previous transaction but forgot to remove them from my cart so I went ahead and did another transaction for them

Subtotal: $1.98
Tax: $0.15
Ecbs Redeemed: 0
Total OOP: $2.13
Ecbs Earned: 0

Combined Total OOP: $17.41
Remaining ECBs for next week: $7.99
After factoring in Remaining ECBs: $9.42
Combined Total Savings: $65.12

Goal: Continued going, at least on a weekly basis to continue rolling these ECBs to avoid paying so much OOP.

-huge thanks to Jamie for the coupon matchups

6 Responses to "Today’s Store Highlight: CVSing w/Kay (8/15)"

Very nice cvsing. I have not made my plan for the week so that probably means I will not get half of what I wanted. I am the one in the class Saturday asking about the Reinventing Beauty Mags. Which CVS did you find them in and where in the store because I would like to pick one or two up Monday. Thanks!
Michelle

Greetings Michelle!

I purchased the magazines from the Hwy 78/Ladson Rd store. They only had the two which I purchased on the shelf in the beauty section of the store on a display. Usually I would see some by the registers but when I didn’t I asked the cashier if they had any in stock and she told me to look on the shelf in the beauty section, right at the front of the store.

The next time I go into the store I will be asking when they generally get them in stock and how many so I can update each of you who are interested in purchasing them.

Reaping In Abundance, Kay

Awesome deals and rolling those ECB’s !
I really laughed when you quoted your Hubs as saying “WHAT? you had to pay for something” mine has said that before when I have started over with no ECB’s at CVS too.

BTW, the details of your scenarios are going to really help a lot of people… especially Newbies…thanks !

Greetings Nonna (Now I feel like one of your Grandbabies 😉 )

I had to apologie to the cashier, 🙂 and then turned to him and told him I’m leaving him home the next time. It was too funny.

Thanks so much for the insight in regards to the details. I really want to be a help to others and pray, daily, that I bring the information forth with clarity and understanding!

Reaping In Abundance, Kay

I miss those $/$$ coupons too! Have you registered your email online? Sometimes I get those $/$$ coupons delivered to my email (usually on Thursday). Thanks for the link back!

Greetings Jamie!

Yes, I’ve registered my e-mail online but I think they want me to come in the store more often as I still have not been seeing those $X/$XX coupons ;). I switched my e-mail address over to the account that I check more frequently but they are probably sending my good coupons to the old one so I need to go check it to see.

You’re quite welcome…I appreciate the time and effort bloggers put into these matchups and feel it only fair to give honor where honor is due.

Continue blessings & prosperity!

Reaping In Abundance,
Kay

Leave a Reply

Kay n Hubby FL
Hello and welcome! I am a military spouse & mom of four boys and two girls, ages 1 to 10, oldest diagnosed with autism. We're located in the Charleston, SC area. My family and my faith are very important to me. Since I've started using coupons I have been able to save more money and become a better steward of my household. I hope to seed into the general public, and our military families, how to spend less and get more.

Get ready to take your grocery & household spending to a whole new level! Couponing is not only a means to seed but an avenue to harvest...both opportunities are endless & a joy to delight in.

I welcome feedback and comments! Thank you again!

Kay

Click on the Date to View Its Posts

August 2010
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

What Insert Was THAT Coupon In?

Get Reaping Your Harvest By Email

Coupon Center


Coupons Inc.
Redplum

MilitarySpouseBlogs

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Need Extra Coupons?

The Coupon Clippers


Categories

Gevalia
Softscrubclub_logo

Couponing Terminology

$1/1, $1/2, etc. One dollar off one item, one dollar off two items, etc.
b1g1/bogo(f)- buy one get one (free)
CC- Coupon Connexion (Military Coupon Booklet)
Deal- Grocery plan worked out to spend the less money out of pocket (OOP)
FLIP- Food Lion Internet Printable
OOP- Out of Pocket
P&G- proctor & gamble
Q- Coupon
RP- Redplum
SS- Smartsource
wyb- when you buy

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 255,637 hits
MySavings Media Super Affiliate Program

Savings Buddies





Being a Dandelion


Coupon Newbie




Deal Seeking Mom
Jolly Mom
Simply CVS

Grab Our Button

