Reaping Your Harvest

Piggly Wiggly: Creating BOGO Scenarios & Earning GBXs

Posted on: 09/10/2010

While I work on the matchups for the current week’s sale, I thought I’d toss out a potential idea that came to me while thinking on the many of you who enjoy shopping the other stores using coupons but, rarely, if at all, shopped the Pig until the GBX promotion began earlier this year….and even moreso with the offer of the giftcard opportunities.

Looking through an insert on today, I kept noticing B1G1 (BOGO) coupons and started wondering, what if we created our own BOGO sales for items when such coupons are available.

What do I mean by this?

Well say for instance, you were interested in puchasing the Air Wick Aqua Mist Spray but haven’t seen it gone on sale at any of your local stores. With the opportunity to not only purchase two (2) items for the price of one (1), you also receive an extra “incentive”, if you will, for shopping at that store to make the deal even sweeter.

Here’s where I’m going with this. Piggly Wiggly has the Air Wick Aqua Mist Spray, reg. price $3.49ea.

Scenario:

(2) Air Wick Aqua Mist, $3.49ea.
-use (1) BOGO Air Wick Aqua Mist Spray, 8/22SS
-use (1) Air Wick Aqua Mist Spray (PRINT)
makes them $2.49 for (2) or $1.25ea.
EARNED: 2 GBX (valued at $1.50ea.)

To be honest with you. If I only had $3 to my name, and I needed gas, not that $3 worth of gas would get you too far, but for the sake of this example…I would walk into the Pig, work this transaction FIRST, then turn around and head to the Pig’s gas station to swipe my Pig Card to use the newly earned GBX (2 GBX= $3) for my gas purchase.

Now, why would I do such a thing? Well, because, when I began, I only had the three dollars. Had I bypassed this deal, I would have just ended up with $3 worth of gas. But because I worked the scenario, I now have two (2) bottles of Air Wick Aqua Mist Spray AND $3 worth of gas. I, essentially, stretched my available cash to get more, while spending less.

Of course, this can be worked on a larger scale since we know that the daily maximum of GBX allowed is 10 (equivalent to $15). If that was all I had on me, I would gather up my coupons to purchase items within that price range after coupons, earn my 10 GBX and head to the gas station afterwards and still obtain my $15 worth of gas but go home with groceries as well. Not only that, but when you swipe your Pig Card at the gas station you EARN more GBXs. Not as many as you do with coupons, but still you’re earning more while spending less.

So the next time you get in your ride to head to the gas station, consider using some of those same funds to get a little more…once you’re low on gas again, you have nothing else to show for those funds spent. With this idea, at least you can say, I got that air freshener or bought lunch using coupons and funds I already planned to use for gas (by the way that’s not such a bad idea…purchase lunch with your gas money, earn the GBX using coupons on the purchase…now you have lunch & gas…ok, I’m rambling…have a LOT of ideas going on in my head right now, but pray you get the point…if not, please feel free to ask questions…)…consider this as a way to cycle your money…the Pig will “Feed your Life” & Fuel your Ride!

*Note this is separate from your GBXs stock-up for the upcoming Giftcard Promotion in November. This will probably be something you do once a week, or so, whenever you plan to re-fuel your vehicle. So once (1) a week you will redeem (10 GBX) and earn GBX the remaining days to use towards your giftcards. That’s a total of 10 weeks til the 17th of Nov. If you were to shop EVERYDAY using the above plan you would have 600 GBX at the start of the sale week and would have redeemed 100 (totaling 700 GBX that could be earned). If the same guidelines apply for redemption that’s enough GBXs to reap 12 $100 Giftcards for a total value of $1200! No more after-holidays blues over gift buying debt!

Just an idea…What do you all think?

6 Responses to "Piggly Wiggly: Creating BOGO Scenarios & Earning GBXs"

That’s what I call awesome Reaping for holiday shopping/gift giving! I have got to find a way to the PIG!

Lynn,

I’m beginning to think we need to meet up the next time you head this way for some BBQ! Eat out at Hickory Hawg, and get our Pig on at Piggly Wiggly! 🙂

R.I.A.,
Kay

You know it! Now I just need to work on getting there.

Hey Kay.

I am proud to say that I am up to 47 GB as of today! Thank’s to your guidance. I am having trouble finding the information about what gift cards you can redeem them for and where and when, I have looked all over the Pig’s website but can’t find it anywhere. Any help would be greatly appreciated! BTW, which Pig’s do you shop at the most? I have found that the one on Cedar St in S’ville and the one off of Central Ave aren’t the friendliest ones around (to say the least). I have been mostly using the one off of Bacon’s Bridge Rd, but pretty soon, I will have purchased ALL of their Glory Food products. LOL!

Catherine,

My buddy and I were just talking about the stores you’ve mentioned above…actually I was in the middle of creating a post to speak on the things that that I learned on yesterday.

I am closer to the store on the corner of Ladson Rd. so I generally shop in there, however, on yesterday I was passing by the store on Cedar St. (BTW, there is a father and son who own those two stores, so your experiences at both will be very similiar). I’ll share my experiences in the post.

In regards, to the gift card promotion, they will begin this one again on Nov. 17th, for all of the giftcards on their “mall”, excluding Piggly Wiggly giftcards.

Ah! So I see you are familiar with the Kersting family. Well, the son was extremely rude to me on Monday in the Cedar Str store over some printable coupons. That’s okay, I’ll be back there tomorrow with my coupons again. I wasn’t going to go back there again, but I’ve changed my mind. I want my boys to have a great Christmas this year! 🙂 I can’t wait to read your new post.

Leave a Reply

Kay n Hubby FL
Hello and welcome! I am a military spouse & mom of four boys and two girls, ages 1 to 10, oldest diagnosed with autism. We're located in the Charleston, SC area. My family and my faith are very important to me. Since I've started using coupons I have been able to save more money and become a better steward of my household. I hope to seed into the general public, and our military families, how to spend less and get more.

Get ready to take your grocery & household spending to a whole new level! Couponing is not only a means to seed but an avenue to harvest...both opportunities are endless & a joy to delight in.

I welcome feedback and comments! Thank you again!

Kay

Click on the Date to View Its Posts

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

What Insert Was THAT Coupon In?

Get Reaping Your Harvest By Email

Coupon Center


Coupons Inc.
Redplum

MilitarySpouseBlogs

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Need Extra Coupons?

The Coupon Clippers


Categories

Gevalia
Softscrubclub_logo

Couponing Terminology

$1/1, $1/2, etc. One dollar off one item, one dollar off two items, etc.
b1g1/bogo(f)- buy one get one (free)
CC- Coupon Connexion (Military Coupon Booklet)
Deal- Grocery plan worked out to spend the less money out of pocket (OOP)
FLIP- Food Lion Internet Printable
OOP- Out of Pocket
P&G- proctor & gamble
Q- Coupon
RP- Redplum
SS- Smartsource
wyb- when you buy

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 256,136 hits
MySavings Media Super Affiliate Program

Savings Buddies





Being a Dandelion


Coupon Newbie




Deal Seeking Mom
Jolly Mom
Simply CVS

Grab Our Button

