Reaping Your Harvest

Publix New Week, New Deal: Inspired by a Reader (Pepsi) 9/29-10/5

Posted on: 09/29/2010

Fellow reader, Margaret, wanted to know if I thought the $0.85 deal on the Coke products at Family Dollars this week was a good deal, with the in-ad coupon.

Whenever, I see deals such as this, I immediately being to think on current sales elsewhere. This isn’t done to deter me from purchasing those products at the particular store, only as a means to allow me to see how much more, if any, I can get for my money.

In this case, I see that Publix has the 2L Pepsi Products on sale this week 5/$5. Now although each bottle is $0.15 more than the Coke products at Family Dollars, take a look at how, when using coupons properly, you can further stretch your dollar.

Scenario:

(5) Pepsi, 2L Products, 5/$5
(6) Hamburger Helpers, BOGO, $1.59
(2) Pledge Wipes, BOGO, $3.99
(4) Halls Cough Drops, BOGO, $1.69
(6) Progresso Soup, BOGO, $2.29
(2) Shedd’s Country Crock, BOGO, $1.89
(2) Crystal Light Drink Mix, BOGO, $4.69
(2) Old El Paso Dinner Kits, BOGO, $2.95

Use:

(1) $5/$25 Rite-Aid Purchase (PRINT)
(2) $0.75/3 Hamburger Helper (PRINT)
(3) $1/2 Hamburger Helper (Rite Aid Vid. Val. Q)
(1) $2/2 Pledge Products, 9/26 SS
(1) $2/2 Pledge Products (TARGET Q)
(2) BOGO Halls Products (MFQ within Rite-Aid Sales Ad, 9/26-10/2)
(4) $0.50/1 Halls (Rite-Aid Vid. Val. Q)
(2) $1/3 Progresso Soup, Better At Home Booklets
(3) $1/2 Progresso Soup (Rite-Aid Vid. Val. Q) *same coupon with Hamburger Helper & Granola Bar on it
(2) $1/1 Crystal Light Drink Mix (PRINT) OR $1.50/1 Crystal Light Tearpad, 12qt.
(2) $1.50/1 Crystal Light (PUBLIX) *was available last week on Publix Kraft site
(2) $0.50/1 Old El Paso Products (PRINT)

Subtotal (Pre-tax): $33.44
Total OOP (After Coupons): $4.25-$5.25 plus tax (depends upon Crystal MFQ used)

Now if Margaret goes to Family Dollars to purchase 5 of the 2L Coke products, she would pay $4.25 plus tax OOP….but that would be all she would get. For the same price, or a $1 more, she could go to Publix, work the scenario above and pay roughly the same amount of money OOP for her beverages, simply a different brand, however, in addition to the five (5) sodas, she would also walk away with 24 additional items to put in her stock pile for another rainy day.

Worked it out? Please feel free to come back and share your experiences.

Remember, this is only an idea as to how you can do more with less, or with the funds you were already planning on using. These deals can always be adjusted to fit the needs of your family. Simply allow this to act as a tool of guidance.

Reaping In Abundance,
Kay

1 Response to "Publix New Week, New Deal: Inspired by a Reader (Pepsi) 9/29-10/5"

Well….I really wish I could think the way you do about making scenarios. I honestly think I will be do that exact senario. I already have all the coupons. I would like to thank you greatly, because now not only will I have the sodas for my husband but I will have a ton of other food for the whole family! You have truely blessed my day with this scenario! Thank you so much, this helps my budget out a lot.

Leave a Reply

Kay n Hubby FL
Hello and welcome! I am a military spouse & mom of four boys and two girls, ages 1 to 10, oldest diagnosed with autism. We're located in the Charleston, SC area. My family and my faith are very important to me. Since I've started using coupons I have been able to save more money and become a better steward of my household. I hope to seed into the general public, and our military families, how to spend less and get more.

Get ready to take your grocery & household spending to a whole new level! Couponing is not only a means to seed but an avenue to harvest...both opportunities are endless & a joy to delight in.

I welcome feedback and comments! Thank you again!

Kay

Click on the Date to View Its Posts

September 2010
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

What Insert Was THAT Coupon In?

Get Reaping Your Harvest By Email

Coupon Center


Coupons Inc.
Redplum

MilitarySpouseBlogs

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 69 other followers

Need Extra Coupons?

The Coupon Clippers


Categories

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Gevalia
Softscrubclub_logo

Couponing Terminology

$1/1, $1/2, etc. One dollar off one item, one dollar off two items, etc.
b1g1/bogo(f)- buy one get one (free)
CC- Coupon Connexion (Military Coupon Booklet)
Deal- Grocery plan worked out to spend the less money out of pocket (OOP)
FLIP- Food Lion Internet Printable
OOP- Out of Pocket
P&G- proctor & gamble
Q- Coupon
RP- Redplum
SS- Smartsource
wyb- when you buy

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 255,655 hits
MySavings Media Super Affiliate Program

Savings Buddies





Being a Dandelion


Coupon Newbie




Deal Seeking Mom
Jolly Mom
Simply CVS

Grab Our Button